Week 32 Wrap-Up

This week in pregnancy: I go a little loopy. 

I noticed this week especially that my mind has been scattered and that hormones seem to be having a dramatic effect on my thoughts and actions. It’s challenging to fight the hormones, but easier when I realize I’m just being emotional. And by “emotional” I don’t just mean crazy PMS style anger and melancholy, I mean big mood swings including happiness and silliness too.

I was running groceries one day, caught my reflection, and mentally reminded myself to suck it in. Suck it in! In my third trimester! I don’t know what I was thinking. I also found myself easily overwhelmed at household chores when I had difficulty performing them. This escalated into expressions of frustration or utter despair. My husband came to my rescue during those moments, helping me calm down the crazy and reminding me that the emotions would pass. We try to be strict on ourselves regarding our emotions, and we make a conscious effort to keep them from controlling our actions. His support during my mood swings has been a lifesaver.

I’ve been getting kicked regularly but this past week I was kicked somewhere new: the intestines. I jumped at that one, it really caught me off guard. It felt like gas, but didn’t last long enough to have been gas. It also had the sharp pain that comes with gas. I’m always surprised with how many places I get kicked. The head sits low on my bladder most times, and if it’s low enough it can really hurt and restrict movement. Baby loves to stretch out, especially in the mornings and evenings, and that usually lands a couple of feet in my ribs. She squirms a lot which wobbles my stomach around, and she tends to hug one side or the other, which means when one of us changes sides in the middle of the night, the other one needs to as well. Sometimes I feel like she has tucked a fist or foot behind my hip bone, testing the limits of her space and not knowing that the limits are my body.

I’m growing more and more eager to meet the little firecracker.

Leave a Reply

